GLOWING BATTLE: INNISFREE ECO SAFETY NO SEBUM SUNBLOCK vs INNISFREE ECO SAFETY AQUA PERFECT SUN GEL

“90% of skin aging signs are results of sun damage.” I heard this quote everywhere from the first day I start to be interested in skin care and that really freak me out. Regardless of that, I can’t seem to force myself to use sunscreen on a daily basis, given the fact that it is more troublesome and most of the time leave a greasy finish and worst, white cast on your face. Today I will review 2 of the sunscreen I have tried from Innisfree. One of them I absolutely love, and the other, the worst nightmare of my skin care history. Read on! πŸ˜‰

Disclaimer: This blog is merely where I share my opinions about product that I have tried. I cannot guarantee what works for me will work for you. So please PATCH TEST all the products if you know you have sensitive skin, or stay away from those that has alcohol and strong fragrance if you cannot stand those.

Processed with VSCO

Left: Innisfree Eco Safety Aqua Perfect Sun Gel SPF 50+, PA+++; Right: Innisfree Eco Safety No Sebum Sunblock SPF 35+, PA+++

As far as I have learned through my research, SPF is the indicator of protection against UV B, which affects mostly the surface of your skin and cause sunburn or extra production of melamine, which is the reason of the dark spots on your face, especially after your pimples shrink and start to heal. PA on the other hand, takes care of UV A, which isΒ  the cause of skin cancer (I know, scary!)

So both this product are from Innisfree. There is more famous sunscreen, namely the Innisfree Eco Safety Perfect Sunblock, which I have yet to try. I always thought, since my skin gears towards more oily type, the no sebum version will be more suitable for me. Boys I could not be more wrong!

Innisfree Eco Safety No Sebum Sunblock SPF 35+ PA+++ (white)

Packaging:

The Innisfree Eco Safety No Sebum Sunblock has a simple, white and clean packaging. Again nothing to complain about Innisfree packaging, totally my style. Very minimal and classy. All their products are made with recyclable materials, and when you finish using, you can return the empties to Innisfree. Even the paper box is printed with recycled paper and soy ink. This product has a squeeze bottle, which is quite convenient in dispensing and controlling products.

Smell:

This is my issue. All sunblock I has tried so far has a metallic smell. This is no exception, it starts out as a herbal smell, a bit artificial, yet bearable. The moment this sits on your skin for more than 30 seconds, the metallic smell appeared. Many people say this is due to the zinc oxide present in the product, one of the key ingredients in sun protector. But seriously, the smell does annoy me. The smell will stay for at least 30 minutes on my face.

How to use?

I applied this as the last step of my skin care. After all the toner, essence, emulsion and moisturizer.

Texture:

The sunblock has this tinted moisturizer kind of texture. Apply need to be very fast because it dries out so quick. And as you can see from the image, insane white cast T_T

Verdict:

Now I must say, Innisfree takes their “No Sebum” claim very seriously. Too seriously for me and my skin. Beside the white cast, though this really controls the oil on the T zone of my face, it dries out everywhere else so badly. My skin was itchy, irritated, and overall not happy. I spot sign of pimple the next day after using this sunscreen. This is however a fairly good primer. Foundation sit well on top of this with no oiliness. You can only happy with this if you have super oily skin, no dry patches, and, VERY FAIR skin tone.

Rating: 1/5

  1. This item should be banned (may cause irritation)
  2. This item is not doing its job well
  3. Meh! A passable product
  4. Pretty good! Will consider repurchase
  5. I love this and cannot live without it

Repurchase?

Now I really never give a 1 before, how bad can skin care be? Until I use this product. Never again.

Innisfree Eco Safety Aqua Perfect Sun Gel SPF 50+ PA+++ (yellow)

Processed with VSCO

This is the one Sun Gel that saved my life

Packaging:

The Innisfree Eco Safety Aqua Perfect Sun Gel has a simple, yellow tube packaging. There is a clean nozzle on top to help dispensing the product. Since the design is standing up straight, it took some efforts to squeeze the sun gel out. I still like the design of this though.

Smell:

As I said earlier, all sunblock I has tried so far has a metallic smell. This is very similar to the no sebum sunblock, it starts out as a herbal smell, a bit artificial, yet bearable. The moment this sits on your skin for more than 30 seconds, the metallic smell appeared. The smell will stay for at least 30 minutes on my face.

How to use?

I applied this as the last step of my skin care. After all the toner, essence, emulsion and moisturizer.

Texture:

Unlike the No Sebum version, this has a very nice cooling gel texture, and spread on skin super easily, and absorb very fast.

Verdict:

I won’t lie, there is a slight white cast, but not so bad, this helps even out my skin tone and redness. And the fact that this absorbs so well and does not irritate my skin makes me so so happy. I feel comfortable wearing this. Reapplication will be needed after 4-5 hours though. And this can be a bit too greasy if you have very oily skin, my T zone can appear oily after 2 hours. A setting powder might help with that, but overall I am very very happy with this product.

Rating: 4/5

  1. This item should be banned (may cause irritation
  2. This item is not doing its job well
  3. Meh! A passable product
  4. Pretty good! Will consider repurchase
  5. I love this and cannot live without it

Repurchase?

I will consider. But I am eyeing the Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence, will update when I move on to that product. πŸ˜‰ I heard a lot of good review.

Where to get it?

Any Innisfree retail stores

I got mine here on Qoo10:INNISFREE ECO SAFETY AQUA PERFECT SUN GEL (affiliated link)

Alternative, you can also get this on Innisfree Website here

So now you know my opinion about these two products. The Innisfree Eco Safety Aqua Perfect Sun Gel win hands down. Go ahead and share with me in the comment, what kind of sunscreen you use? Do you encounter the same issue that I had like smell and white cast?

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Go get that GLOW,

Disclaimer: I bought all of these items by myself, unless stated otherwise, and I am not paid in any way to give my feedback. This is my honest opinions for the products. For more information, check out my disclaimer.

 

One thought on “GLOWING BATTLE: INNISFREE ECO SAFETY NO SEBUM SUNBLOCK vs INNISFREE ECO SAFETY AQUA PERFECT SUN GEL

Leave a Reply

